What are the 4 basic categories for design patterns?

Design Patterns

Design patterns are reusable solutions to common problems in software design. They provide a way to structure code for maximum reuse and flexibility. In this article, we will explore the four basic categories of design patterns and their uses.

Structural Patterns

Structural patterns are the most fundamental of the four categories. They provide basic ways to organize classes, objects, and relationships within a software system. Examples of structural patterns include: Adapter, Bridge, Composite, Decorator, Facade, Flyweight, and Proxy.

Behavioral Patterns

Behavioral patterns provide ways to organize and control the flow of information and actions within a system. Examples of behavioral patterns include: Chain of Responsibility, Command, Interpreter, Iterator, Mediator, Memento, Observer, State, Strategy, and Template Method.

Creational Patterns

Creational patterns provide ways to create objects. Examples of creational patterns include: Abstract Factory, Builder, Factory Method, Prototype, and Singleton.

Concurrency Patterns

Concurrency patterns provide ways to handle multiple threads of execution. Examples of concurrency patterns include: Balking, Barrier, Readers-Writers, Scheduler, and Thread Pool.


Design patterns are an essential tool in software development. They provide a way to structure code for maximum reuse and flexibility. There are four basic categories of design patterns: structural, behavioral, creational, and concurrency. Each of these categories has its own set of patterns that can be used to solve common problems in software design. With the right combination of patterns, developers can create powerful and versatile applications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *